BLOG

Category

  • All
  • Birth Injury
  • Car Accident
  • Dangerous Drugs
  • Dog Bite Injury
  • Featured Posts
  • Firm News
  • Mass Tort
  • Medical Malpractice
  • Motorcycle Accident
  • Nursing Home Abuse
  • Paralegal
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Personal Injury
  • Premises Liability
  • Product Liability
  • Truck Accident
  • Uncategorized
  • Workers' Compensation
  • Wrongful Death
All
  • All
  • Birth Injury
  • Car Accident
  • Dangerous Drugs
  • Dog Bite Injury
  • Featured Posts
  • Firm News
  • Mass Tort
  • Medical Malpractice
  • Motorcycle Accident
  • Nursing Home Abuse
  • Paralegal
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Personal Injury
  • Premises Liability
  • Product Liability
  • Truck Accident
  • Uncategorized
  • Workers' Compensation
  • Wrongful Death
picture of library

Missouri Uninsured Motorist Statute & State Laws

The Missouri Uninsured Motorist Statute requires all drivers to maintain uninsured motorist coverage. This uninsured motorist coverage requires a minimum amount of liability coverage at $25,000 / person for bodily injury and $50,000 / accident for bodily injury. This requirement is part of Mo. Ann. Stat. § 379.203; a Missouri law that requires every automobile liability policy to provide uninsured motorist coverage. This legally entitles...
Read More...
personal injury statute

Kansas Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury Claims

The statute of limitations for filing a personal injury claim in Kansas is 2 years (see Kansas Statutes section 60-513), meaning residents have 2 years from the date of an accident to file a lawsuit. Those who miss the deadline are likely to have their claim denied or case dismissed by the court. A statute of limitations exists for both civil and criminal causes of...
Read More...
Personal injury lawsuit timeline and case steps

Personal Injury Case Timeline – Steps & Lawsuit Process

If you’ve never been a party to a lawsuit before, your understanding of the legal process might be limited to the exciting courtroom scenes you see in movies and television shows. For that reason, accident victims might assume that all cases go to trial, and they may be confused about how to pursue a personal injury claim or about how the process works. The truth...
Read More...
type writer types personal injury claims

Missouri Statute of Limitations For Personal Injury Claims

In Missouri, the statute of limitations for filing a personal injury claim is 5 years (Missouri Code section 516.120). This means that claims must be filed within 5 years of discovering the injury. Individuals who do not file a claim within the 5 year time limit are unlikely to be eligible for a settlement or have their case tried in court. A statute of limitation...
Read More...
statute of limitations paper on clipboard

Missouri Car Accident Statute of Limitations

The Missouri statute of limitations for car accidents is 5 years, meaning Missouri residents have 5 years from the day of their car accident to bring a lawsuit (RSMo. §516.120). This law applies to anyone involved in the accident, not just the driver, meaning passengers, pedestrians, bicyclists, motorcyclists, etc. are also subject to the 5-year deadline. However, a proposed bill in the Missouri Senate could...
Read More...
Car accident settlement process and case timeline infographic

What is the Car Accident Settlement Process in Missouri?

filing a claim, case investigations, insurance policy review, demand letter, settlement negotiation, and settlement payout or proceeding to trial.
Read More...
A chart showing the average car accident settlement amount compared to other auto accident settlements based on data from Brown & Crouppen Law Firm.

What is the Average Car Accident Settlement Amount in Missouri?

The average settlement amount for a car accident is approximately $37,248.62. The average car accident settlement for cases in which non injury or only minor injuries occurred is much lower (generally between $10,000 – $15,000).
Read More...
man reaching over to shake hand

How Do Lawyers Negotiate Settlements?

One of the most important aspects of a personal injury attorney’s job is settlement negotiation. Because experienced attorneys have negotiated hundreds if not thousands of cases, they have a better idea of what a case settlement value should be. While negotiating cases, attorneys take a lot of information into consideration and often negotiate with insurance companies. Lawyers negotiate elements of a case including liability, total...
Read More...
black man with crutches

How Long Does A Lawsuit Take To Settle?

Personal injury claims are often settled within 1 year starting from the date that the claim is filed. In cases that involve serious injuries or are not settled and instead go to trial, it often takes 2-5 years to receive compensation, but ultimately it will depend on the complexity of the injuries and associated claims. Auto accident cases with clear fault and non-complicated injuries often...
Read More...
Chart showing the average workers' compensation settlement amounts (2021-2024)

What is the Average Workers’ Comp Settlement?

The average workers' comp settlement amount is $29,750.10, which is based on over 1,000 workers' compensation cases.
Read More...

SCHEDULE A FREE CONSULTATION

314-222-2222
Text with a live representative
Text “GETBC” to 314-222-2222
Standard rates apply