Browse our frequently asked questions (FAQs) for quick answers to common questions about car accident cases at Brown & Crouppen Law Firm.

How much is my case worth?

Ultimately, this will be depend on many unique factors of your case.

The average settlement amount for a car accident is approximately $41,783.00. This figure may be high in comparison to national averages across the United States because the data includes more car accident settlements involving serious injuries.

How Long Do I Have to File a Claim?

It depends on your state and your type of case.

The Missouri statute of limitations for car accidents is 5 years, meaning Missouri residents have 5 years from the day of their car accident to bring a lawsuit.


It depends on your state.

You have limited time to file a lawsuit after a car accident in Illinois & Missouri. The statute of limitations will apply to most car accident lawsuits in Illinois and Missouri, though some exceptions may apply.

How Long Does A Settlement Take For A Car Accident?

Each case is unique, but can settle within 6 to 9 months.

Car accident cases with clear liability and moderate injuries often settle within 6 to 9 months after medical treatment is complete.

How can a car accident lawyer help?

A lawyer will provide help and support throughout each step of your case.

A a car accident lawyer will help with investigations, collect supporting evidence, settlement negotiations, and prepare a case for trial if needed.

How is Fault Determined After an Auto Accident?

Fault is determined based on evidence collected throughout the case.

Attorneys and insurance companies determine fault based on the evidence they have at hand. Often fault is determined largely based on the police report filing by the reporting officer.

Who Is At Fault in a Rear-end Collision?

Generally, distracted drivers are at fault.

Most rear-end collisions are caused by distracted drivers. 87% of rear-end collisions where a driver hits the vehicle ahead of them are caused by distracted drivers

How long do I have to file a police report after a car accident?

There is no limit.

There is no limit or standard formula used to determine how much an injured party in a motor vehicle accident can seek in a lawsuit

How long do I have to file a police report after a car accident?

In Missouri, individuals have 30 days.

You have 30 days to file a police report in Missouri. However, it’s in your best interest to file a police report as soon as possible in almost all cases.

What are the steps of a car accident settlement?

There are 6 key steps to any car accident settlement.

In order, these six key steps include filing the claim, investigations, insurance policy review, the demand letter, negotiations, and the settlement payout. If a settlement agreement cannot be reached, the case may go to trial.

Can I Be Reimbursed for Lost Wages After a Car Accident?

Yes, damages for lost wages can be recovered.

After a car accident, the at-fault party is required to compensate you for damages (including lost wages) that resulted from the collision.

Why Is My Car Accident Settlement Taking So Long?

Generally, this is due to evidence collection or medical treatment.

Car accidents can take a long time to settle due to negotiations, paying outstanding bills, medical treatment, and the collection of evidence to support the case.

Need an Answer to a Question That’s Not Here?

If you have a question that’s not found on this page, you view our other frequently asked questions or call us at 888-803-1307 or select any attorney to contact, and we’ll route your question to the appropriate legal team.

To contact a specific law office, browse our locations and contact information.

Text with a live representative
Text “GETBC” to 314-222-2222
Standard rates apply