All Articles

Missouri Statute of Limitations for Slip and Fall Claims

In Missouri, most slip and fall cases have a 5-year statute of limitations, meaning that individuals have five years from the date of the injury to file a claim against the negligent property owner or manager. Slip and fall accidents fall under the umbrella of premises liability negligence claims. To establish a claim for premises liability in Missouri, a plaintiff must show (1) a dangerous...
Read More

Can a Tenant Sue a Landlord for an Injury in Missouri?

A tenant may sue a landlord for an injury in Missouri, but to succeed, the tenant must prove that the landlord owed a duty to the tenant. The general rule in Missouri is that a landlord does not owe a duty to their tenants and the landlord will not be liable for personal injuries caused by the dangerous conditions of the premises. The rationale is...
Read More

Average Motorcycle Accident Settlement Amount

The average motorcycle settlement amount is approximately $62,564.31, which was derived from retrieving settlement amounts in personal injury cases that were settled or won in trial in the last 7 years (between 2015 and 2022). As an average settlement amount, this number represents a statistical average payout for motorcycle accident cases. This means settlements may be higher or lower than the average. When considering an...
Read More

Who Is At Fault in a Rear-end Collision?

Rear-end collisions are the most common type of motor vehicle accident in the United States. According to the National Highway and Traffic Safety Administration, rear-end collisions account for 32.5%–almost a third–of all motor vehicle accidents. Most rear-end collisions are caused by distracted drivers. 87% of rear-end collisions where a driver hits the vehicle ahead of them are caused by distracted drivers. In nearly half (47%)...
Read More

Kansas Damage Caps

Damage caps are limitations on the amount a plaintiff (the injured party) can recover in a lawsuit. Such limitations are fixed dollar amounts that represent the absolute maximum a plaintiff can recover for one incident, even if a jury decides that their losses are worth more than the maximum amount allowed. The following damages are subject to damage caps in the state of Kansas: Non-economic...
Read More

Can I Be Reimbursed for Lost Wages After a Car Accident?

After a car accident, the at-fault party is required to compensate you for damages (including lost wages) that resulted from the collision. Car accident injuries can turn lives upside down. The pain, suffering, and medical treatment required for accident injuries are time-consuming, disruptive, and expensive. Serious injuries often require months of compliance with a physical rehabilitation program or regular visits to specialists. Because complying with...
Read More

Average Pedestrian Accident Settlement Amount

The average settlement amount for a pedestrian accident claim is approximately $36,253.73. This figure is based on data from past pedestrian accident settlements within the last 6 years (2015 – 2021). This average should not be interpreted as a standard amount for every pedestrian accident settlement. This is because personal injury settlement amounts are unique to each case and dependent on many factors such as...
Read More

How is Fault Determined After an Auto Accident?

Attorneys and insurance companies determine fault based on the evidence they have at hand. Often fault is determined largely based on the police report filing by the reporting officer. However, the insurance company will corroborate the police report with their insured and if the injured party isn’t represented, they’ll tell them that they need to give a recorded statement regarding the wreck before they’ll make...
Read More
1 2 49 50
314-222-2222
Text with a live representative
Text “GETBC” to 314-222-2222
Standard rates apply