BLOG

Category

  • All
  • Birth Injury
  • Car Accident
  • Dangerous Drugs
  • Dog Bite Injury
  • Featured Posts
  • Firm News
  • Mass Tort
  • Medical Malpractice
  • Motorcycle Accident
  • Nursing Home Abuse
  • Paralegal
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Personal Injury
  • Premises Liability
  • Product Liability
  • Truck Accident
  • Uncategorized
  • Workers' Compensation
  • Wrongful Death
All
  • All
  • Birth Injury
  • Car Accident
  • Dangerous Drugs
  • Dog Bite Injury
  • Featured Posts
  • Firm News
  • Mass Tort
  • Medical Malpractice
  • Motorcycle Accident
  • Nursing Home Abuse
  • Paralegal
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Personal Injury
  • Premises Liability
  • Product Liability
  • Truck Accident
  • Uncategorized
  • Workers' Compensation
  • Wrongful Death
A chart showing the average pedestrian accident settlement amount based on data from Brown & Crouppen Law Firm.

Average Settlement for Pedestrian Hit By Car

The average settlement amount for a pedestrian accident claim is approximately $67,511.90 and the median settlement is $30,000, which is a better representation of the typical pedestrian accident settlement because it is less skewed by outliers.
Read More...
woman hlding knee after being hit by a car

How is Fault Determined After an Auto Accident?

Attorneys and insurance companies determine fault based on the evidence they have at hand. Often fault is determined largely based on the police report filing by the reporting officer. However, the insurance company will corroborate the police report with their insured and if the injured party isn’t represented, they’ll tell them that they need to give a recorded statement regarding the wreck before they’ll make...
Read More...
peice of paper that says workers compensation laid over change

How Long Do Workers Comp Settlements Take?

You can receive a workers’ comp settlement offer at any time throughout a case. However, most cases are settled within 6 months and are almost always paid out after the injured worker has reached maximum medical improvement (MMI) - the point where a doctor has determined the injured worker has recovered.
Read More...
gavel, hard hat, and hand cuffs on table

Missouri Helmet Law for Motorcyclists

Under the Missouri helmet law, motorcycle operators and passengers older than 26 are not required to wear a helmet if they have health insurance.
Read More...
Car accident settlement length chart (2024)

How Long Does A Settlement Take For A Car Accident Case?

Note: This data is based on real case data from 4600+ car accident cases. Average case length values should not be interpreted as an expected case timeline. AUTO ACCIDENT SETTLEMENT TIMELINE No matter the case (car, truck, or motorcycle accident), an auto accident settlement often follows the same timeline or process: Claim is filed – An injured party files a claim for compensation with the insurance company ...
Read More...
sign that says statute of limitations

Missouri Damage Caps

Big corporations have spent decades marketing the myth of the “frivolous lawsuit.” According to them, the only way to protect helpless corporations from the people they hurt is to limit (“cap”) how much money (“damages”) those injured people can receive at trial.  In Missouri, whether damages can be capped depends on two main factors–the type of damage, and the defendant.  Economic damages, also known as...
Read More...
man on phone holding head after car accident

Why Is My Car Accident Settlement Taking So Long?

A common question received by personal injury attorneys is “why is my car accident settlement taking so long?” Despite each case being unique, there are some common reasons why car accident settlements can seem like they are taking a long time to progress. Car accidents can take a long time to settle for the following reasons: In most cases, a personal injury lawyer is not...
Read More...
police officer on scene of motorcycle accident

How Long Do You Have To File A Police Report After A Car Accident In Missouri?

You have 30 days to file a police report in Missouri. However, it’s in your best interest to file a police report as soon as possible in almost all cases. It is important that you report the accident for several reasons, including: Required by law – Some accidents must be reported. Under Missouri law, an accident shall be reported within 30 days if any owner/operator...
Read More...
map of missouri

The “No Pay, No Play” Law in Missouri

Missouri’s “No Pay, No Play” law prevents uninsured motorists from pursuing non-economic damages after an auto accident (RSMo section § 303.390). This includes uninsured drivers who own the vehicle, uninsured permissive drivers of the vehicle, and uninsured nonpermissive drivers. This means all uninsured drivers in Missouri are unable to collect the following types of non-economic losses: Pain and suffering Loss of normal life Emotional distress...
Read More...
pin on map of missouri

Is Missouri An At-Fault Or No-Fault State?

Missouri is an at-fault state, meaning that Missouri residents are required to carry a minimum amount of liability coverage through their auto insurance provider. In the event of an auto accident, the at-fault driver’s insurance is liable to pay for medical expenses and other damages to individuals who were injured as a result of the accident. This protects injured persons if the driver holding the...
Read More...

SCHEDULE A FREE CONSULTATION

314-222-2222
Text with a live representative
Text “GETBC” to 314-222-2222
Standard rates apply